Tridoshas (Three doshas) regulator of body mechanism

Description of Tridosha

According to Ayurveda a living body consists of Tridosha which in Sanskrit means three Dosha's ie. defects , pollutants or impurities . Dosha types:
Vata Dosha: Energy that controls bodily functions associated with motion, including blood circulation, breathing, blinking, and your heartbeat.

  • In balance - There is creativity and vitality.
  • Out of balance - Can produce fear and anxiety.
Pitta Dosha: Energy that controls the body's metabolic systems, including digestion, absorption, nutrition, and your body's temperature.

  • Pitta Dosha - Leads to contentment and intelligence.
  • Out of balance - Can cause ulcers and anger.
Kapha Dosha: Energy that controls growth in the body. It supplies water to all body parts, moisturizes the skin, and maintains the immune system.

  • In balance - Expressed as love and forgiveness.
  • Out of balance - Can lead to insecurity and envy.

Each person has all three Doshas, but usually one or two dominate. Various Dosha proportions determine one's physiological and personality traits, as well as general likes and dislikes. For example Vata types will prefer hot weather to cold and Kapha types are more likely to crave spicy foods than other types. Generally these are considered to be characteristics of each mind/body type.

A Dosh in its natural condition helps to mantain the body , it actually pollutes the body when it itself becomes deformed, this condition then creates various kinds of imbalance in the body . Charak Sanhita also mentions that these three Dosha's are always present in the body and in there natural form make the body disease free ; and in unnatural form they are known as defects.